Don’t let your first DUI ruin your life – seek effective defense at the Law Office of Denise Kirby!
Accidents are bound to happen when alcohol and driving mix. There’s a first time for everything, even getting a DUI, which can be particularly difficult to experience. A DUI first offense is not ideal in any situation, but a DUI attorney can work to seek reduced penalties to help your case end smoothly.
When you receive a DUI for the first time in Kansas or Missouri, you need to understand the specifics of your criminal charges and the potential penalties you face. At the Law Office of Denise Kirby, we review your case in detail with you and work to lighten your jail sentence or other penalties. We have successfully defended many clients in their first DUI offense over the past 25 years and maintain an excellent success rate.
A driver’s first instance of a DUI in Kansas depends on their age and the driving circumstances. For regular drivers, a DUI occurs when your BAC is .08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to higher standards and must not surpass .04%, while minors cannot have a BAC of .02% or higher.
A driver in Kansas commits a Class B misdemeanor with a DUI first offense. A successful conviction results in the following, with the additional potential to attend an alcohol treatment program at your expense:
In some cases, you may receive parole or probation, in which case you must serve the terms of your punishment before being eligible for such reconsiderations. A first-time commercial vehicle DUI results in the loss of your CDL for one year. Kansas’s vehicle code states that you may face a one-year driver’s license suspension with restricted driving privileges for your first offense with a BAC over .15%.
Given that Kansas has implied consent, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor if you refuse to take a breath test. This refusal may result in up to one year in jail, fines up to $1,750, and you will lose driving privileges. Fighting these penalties with a lawyer can effectively reduce charges and avoid further mishaps with drunk driving.
If a minor’s blood alcohol content level results in a level of .15% or higher, the charges in Kansas begin with a one-year license suspension, even for the first offense. Kansas’s zero-tolerance law for minors implements harsh punishments to discourage drunk driving, with penalties increasing with the offender’s BAC level.
Missouri’s first time DUI OR DWI charges don’t carry such severe penalties. For a DUI first offense in Kansas City or other areas in Missouri, you will receive a Class B misdemeanor charge. If you are over the age of 21, penalties include:
When you are arrested, refusing to submit a breath sample results in a significant punishment: a license revocation for one year. DUI Attorney Denise Kirby’s services also extend to breath sample defense to help you maintain your eligible driver’s license status. After 90 days, you may apply for a restricted driver’s license to use an ignition interlock device in a vehicle so you can return to your routine without risking your life or others.
Commercial drivers face extensive revocation of their CDL even if a DUI occurs while not working or using their commercial vehicle. Minor offenders also face strict punishments in adult court depending on their BAC level, including driver’s license suspensions and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
Attorney Denise Kirby can provide instrumental legal counsel when representing your DUI first offense. Denise stays up-to-date with current defense protocols and regularly participates in DUI school to increase her DUI law education. When you require outstanding legal defense against your charges, the Law Office of Denise Kirby can provide realistic expectations and outcomes that may even exceed them.
The Law Office of Denise Kirby proudly serves those in Kansas and Missouri when facing a DUI first offense. Contact our firm when you need the services of Denise Kirby by calling 816-221-3691.