In Missouri, a driver will face DUI penalties with a BAC level of .08% or higher. Each offense can result in jail and fines.
Your initial DUI offense falls under a Class B misdemeanor, with the second offense falling under the misdemeanor Class A. For a Class B misdemeanor, the penalties include up to six months of jail time, two years of probation with community service and recovery treatments, up to $500 in fines, and up to 90 days of suspended driving privileges.
A Class A misdemeanor resulting from a second offense receives up to one year in jail, two years of probation with community service, rehabilitation or substance education, as well as up to $1,000 in fines and a 12-month revocation of driving privileges.
After two offenses, a DUI becomes a more serious charge, with the third offense becoming a Class D felony. While Class D is the least severe of felony classifications, the charges stay on your record, and the penalties for a third DUI offense can include the following:
Following the third DUI, a fourth Class E felony is now the penalty for recurring offenders. A Class E felony occurs in such a case where the driver injures another person or is criminally negligent when driving while under the influence of alcohol. For this offense, up to $5,000 in fines and seven years in prison may be the penalties – a fifth time, a Class B felony, results in up to 15 years in prison.
If you face a driver’s license suspension, you only have 15 days to request a hearing. The Law Offices of Denise Kirby can prepare your case and aid you in receiving a more satisfying outcome for your DUI penalty. With over 15 years of experience, Denise Kirby has the education and care to work diligently on your case.
While Kansas City is on the border of Missouri and Kansas, Kansas’s DUI penalties are more serious. As with Missouri, one’s BAC level must be above .08% to receive a DUI charge.
The first Class B misdemeanor offense in Kansas can include the following penalties for DUI:
The second conviction moves to a Class A misdemeanor with jail time of up to one year or $1,750 in fines. The third offense includes the former penalties with an increased fine of up to $2,500 and no less than $1,750 unless it happens within ten years of your last DUI. A 12-month driver’s license suspension, ignition interlock, and alcohol treatment are also among the penalties.
A fourth offense and any following charges are felonies with non-person damage and often result in the same penalties as a third conviction, albeit much harsher. Felony charges also stay on your record, which can be potentially damaging.
When you need solid defense in your case to mitigate DUI penalties, the Law Offices of Denise Kirby are at your service. Our years of experience in DUI litigation have allowed us to aid several clients in receiving an outcome they appreciate.
Let us aid you in lessening the penalties of your DUI case. Contact our office today at 816-221-3691.